Breaking: No More Defections, APC Governors Declare

By Eric Elezuo

The governors serving under the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) rose from a meeting Wednesday with the President, Muhammadu Buhari, in the State House, Aso Rock, declaring that henceforth, there will be no more defections.

Briefing newsmen shortly after the meeting, the chairman of the APC Governors Forum, Owelle Rochas Okorocha, confirmed that the meeting was as a result of the gale of defections that has bedevilled the party in the last couple of days. He however, added that the governors have resolved that there will be no more defections henceforth.

“We have 22 states, 53 senators. We are still the majority, and we are hoping to get more into our party.

“So we are here to let Mr President know that we are with him. Nobody is leaving the party anymore,” he said.

Present at the Wednesday night’s meeting were Governor Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa, Akinwumi Ambode of Lagos, Yahaya Bello of Kogi, Rochas Okorocha of Imo, Kashim Shettima of Borno, Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano, Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun, Abubakar Bello of Niger, Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna, Simon Lalong of Plateau, Mohammed Jibrilla of Adamawa, Abubakar Bugudu of Kebbi and Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State.

Also present was the Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami; APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole; and Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha.

The governors of Nasarawa, Ondo and Osun states were however, absent while the governors of Benue, Kwara and Sokoto states have defected to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).





Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: