Tenure Elongation: Oyegun Knows Fate Today

Out of favour Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, will this Monday know his fate as the National Executive Committee of the party takes a final decision on the tenure of the National Working Committee.

Ahead of the meeting, which from all indications will be stormy, governors and state chairmen of the party arrived in Abuja on Sunday.

NEC will review the decision it took in February, when it said the tenure of the party’s officials had been extended.

The tenure of Oyegun and other NWC members will come to an end on June 28, 2018.

But NEC, at its meeting on February 27, 2018, approved a one-year tenure extension for the party’s officials.

However, at its meeting on March 27, President Muhammadu Buhari opposed the tenure extension, saying it was illegal.

Following the President’s objection, the party set up a 10-member committee to advise it on the issue.

Last week, the APC governors, who initially supported the tenure extension, backed Buhari’s call for fresh congresses.

On Sunday in Abuja, it was gathered that members of the NEC, including governors and state chairmen, who were opposed to tenure elongation for the Oyegun-led NWC,   met   to perfect their strategies ahead of the Monday meeting.

Also, Oyegun’s supporters, including the Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai, had reportedly been mobilising support for the chairman.

It was gathered that some governors, who on February 28 backed tenure elongation, had changed their position.

It was learnt on Sunday that the Ogun State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun; and his Kogi State counterpart, Yaya Bello, had started pushing for fresh congresses.

Apart from Amosun, governors in the anti-tenure elongation group are Abdul’aziz  Yari of Zamfara State, Rochas Okorocha of Imo State, Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano State, Jibrilla Bindo  of Adamawa State,  Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State and Abubakar Badru  of Jigawa State.

Besides El-Rufai, it was gathered that Governor Abdullahi Mohammed (Bauchi) and Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto) were in the pro-Oyegun group.

A chieftain of the APC in Ogun State, who declined to be identified, said it was not true that Amosun was still backing tenure elongation for Oyegun.

The Punch

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: