Senate confirms Buhari’s nominations for Supreme Court 


Two nominees of President Muhammadu Buhari, Benue-born Ejembi Eko and Amina Augie from Kebbi, were on Tuesday confirmed by the Senate as justices of the Supreme Court.

Buhari, had in a letter dated September 22,sent the names to the senate for confirmation. After being read by the Senate President during plenary, the letter was referred to the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal matters.

Speaking on the floor of the Senate on Tuesday, Chairman of the Committee, Senator David Umoru, said his committee found the justices worthy to be judges in the Supreme Court after “careful scrutiny”.

He further disclosed that the committee did not receive any petition against them.

The Senate approved of the nominees after it was put to electronic voting, with the candidates scoring 38 to 0 and 39 to 1, respectively.

Meanwhile, the Upper Chamber received Buhari’s nominees for commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, and the National Population Commission, NPC.
The president sought confirmation of the nominees in accordance with Sections 153 and 154 of the 1999 constitution as amended.

The nominees for INEC commissioners are Okechukwu Ibeanu (Anambra), May Agbamuche (Delta), Ahmed Mu’azu (Gombe), Mohammed Haruna (Niger), Adekunle Ogunmola (Oyo) and Abubakar Nahuche.

The nominees for NPC commissioners are Benedict Ukpong (Akwa Ibom), Gloria Izonfuo (Bayelsa), Kupchi Iyanya (Benue), Haliru Bala (Kebbi) and Eyitayo Oyetunji (Oyo).

Leave a Reply