Edo Elections: PDP Accuses INEC of Rewriting Results

Mr. Godwin Obaseki of the All Progressives Congress, APC, yesterday, emerged governor-elect of Edo State upon his declaration as the candidate with the highest number of votes in the governorship election held Wednesday. Obaseki polled 51.3% of the total votes cast in the election, according to the results declared yesterday. He was trailed by Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 40% of the votes cast, according to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).
The declaration was immediately challenged by the PDP, which accused officials of INEC of conspiring with APC and Edo State government officials to rewrite results gathered at the polling centres. The returning officer for the election, Prof. Kayode Soremekun, who is Vice-Chancellor, Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State, declared Obaseki winner with 319,483 votes to the 253,173 votes credited to the PDP candidate, Ize-Iyamu.
The APC candidate was also credited with majority of the votes in 13 of the 18 local government areas of the state, leaving the PDP candidate with majority votes in five LGAs. None of the other 17 political parties that participated in the election won a majority in any of the local governments. The declaration of Obaseki as the winner was immediately welcomed by the outgoing governor, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, and the victor (Obaseki).

Leave a Reply