Senate Confirms Alasoadura, Aliyu, Two Others as Ministers

As the screening exercise of the ministerial nominees entered its second day in the Senate on Thursday, four nominations have been confirmed by noon.

The News Agency of Nigeria recalls that the Senate adjourned the exercise by 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday after screening 10 nominees.

Those screened as at 12:35 a.m. on Thursday are: Sen. Tayo Alasoadura (Ondo), who is a former member of the Senate between 2015 and 2019.

Another nominee screened is Mr Mustapha Shehuri (Borno), the immediate past minister State of Works, Power and Housing and a former member of the House of Representatives.

The third nominee is Abubakar Aliyu (Yobe), a civil engineer, who was deputy governor of Yobe between 2009 and 2019.

Also screened is Retired Maj. Gen. Bashir Magashi (Kano), a former ECOMOG field commander.

The Senate unanimously waved some of its rules on screening of the nominees because Alasoadura and Shehuri were once in the National Assembly.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: