See Full List of Buhari’s 30 New Appointments for Nigeria’s Revenue Allocation Agency, RMAFC

President Muhammadu Buhari’s office has just sent PREMIUM TIMES the statement below announcing the appointments of new chairperson and commissioners for the Revenue Mobilization Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC).

RMAFC was established by Decree No.49 of 1989 (now an Act of National Assembly) to handle revenue allocation and fiscal matters on a continuous basis.

However, Decree No.49 of 1989 was later amended by Decree No.99 of 1993 (now RMAFC Act Cap R7 LFN 2004). The Commission was thus re-named Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC) in the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria under Section 153(1) as one of the Fourteen (14) Federal Executive Bodies.

The Federation Account is a common pool from which revenues generated into it are then shared among the three tiers of Government.

The Commission therefore, has the statutory mandate to monitor all accruals into and disbursement of revenue from the Federation Account.

The agencies that collect and remit revenue into the Account include: Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Nigerian Customs Service (NCS), Federal Inland Revenue Services (FIRS) and Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR), etc. This is to ensure that all revenues accruable into the Federation Account are collected, properly accounted for and paid into this Account.

Okowa Campaign AD


In accordance with the provision of Section 154(1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended), President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded to the Senate for confirmation, the names of thirty (30) nominees as Chairman and Commissioners of the Revenue Mobilization Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC).

The names were conveyed in a letter signed by the President to the Senate President, Abubakar Bukola Saraki, asking for expeditious consideration and confirmation of the appointments.

Below are the names, states of origin and positions of the nominees respectively.

Ebonyi Engr. Elias Mbam Chairman
Abia Chris Alozie Akomas Commissioner
Akwa Ibom Ayang Sunday Okon Commissioner
Anambra Chima Philip Okafor Commissioner
Benue Samuel Adaa Maagbe Commissioner
Cross River Ntufam Eyo Nsa Whiley Commissioner
Delta Mr. Andrew Ogheneovo Agbaga Commissioner
Ebonyi Commissioner Barr. Patrick Nworu Mgbebu
Edo Mr. Victor Eboigbe Commissioner
Ekiti Amujo Philip Ajayi Commissioner
Enugu Mrs. Maria Chinyere Aniobi Commissioner
FCT Hon. Musa Tanko Abari Commissioner
Gombe Mohammed Kabeer Usman Commissioner
Jigawa Alhaji Ahmed Mahmoud Gumel Commissioner
Katsina Alh. Kabir Muhammad Mashi Commissioner
Kano Barr. Umar Farouk Abdullahi Commissioner
Kebbi Rilwan Hussein Abarshi Commissioner
Kogi Hon. Suleiman Kokori Abdul Commissioner
Kwara Abdullahi Shuaibu Yaman Commissioner
Lagos Dr. Wright Olusegun Adekunle Commissioner
Nasarawa Aliyu A. Abdulkadir Commissioner
Niger Ibrahim Bako Bagudu Shettima Commissioner
Ogun Mr. Fari Adebayo Commissioner
Ondo Mr. Tokunbo Ajasin Commissioner
Plateau Mr. Alexander Shaiyen Commissioner
Rivers Wenah Asondu Temple Commissioner
Yobe Alhaji Modu Aji Juluri Commissioner
Zamfara Abubakar Sadiq A. Gusau Commissioner
Bauchi Prof. Isa B. Mohammed Commissioner


Senior Special Assistant to the President

(Media & Publicity)

February 8, 2019

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: